My Programming Journey #Dev Retro 2022

The journey towards coding

My Programming Journey #Dev Retro 2022

About Me

I am a B.Tech graduate from Mechanical Engineering branch. I passed out of Higher Secondary School in 2018 and decided to do mechanical engineering. After passing out of school I wanted to do engineering and crack GATE examination and then work as a mechanical engineer in a top company.

But life wants me to take on to another track that I have never thought of. When I was in the third semester Covid-19 came to India and my college closed. With the closing of college my dream to crack GATE and work in a recognized company also threw away.

After the first lockdown, I started to work in a company where I worked as a typist and developed good typing skills. It's been too late since my college starts after approximately 2 years. I was in the seventh semester at that time. I lose hope of cracking GATE examination now because I have not studied in college due to Covid.

How I got familiar with coding?

I belong to a middle-class family. I have to manage to get a good job to get aside from the flow of my family. I decided to do something that could give me the living that I dreamt to live.

Life is full of doubts. At the start of this year (2022) when I was in the seventh semester I was in doubt to choose whether to prepare for a government job or start coding and build my career in it. I decided to do coding and make my career in coding. I don't know anything about coding since Feb 2022. At the suggestion of my friend, I joined a coaching and learned programming in C/C++.

The turning point towards web development

After learning the above languages, I got much more familiar with coding. Now I don't know what to do next, then comes a turning point in my coding journey. I got to know about a person whom my friend knows. I went to that man and he became my mentor who told me about, what to do, how to start, what not to do etc. He is Swapnil M Mane whom I thank from the depth of my heart. He guided me to do HTML CSS and JavaScript and also start blogging on this platform #hashnode. The journey of learning JavaScript is going on.

My Hashnode journey

I have no idea how to write a blog and where to write. Then my mentor Swapnil M Mane told me to join hashnode and write blogs consistently on it. It doesn't matter what to write, how to write, how your English is etc. The thing that matters most is to get started. Hence, without thinking more I started to write my first blog on Hashnode. (My first blog).

When I was not familiar with blog writing I think its boring. But after writing a few blogs on Hashnode I got to know about writing blogs is not only for sharing out thoughts and learning with others. The importance of blog writing is that it revises what we have learned and makes us more acquainted.

Conclusion

When I look back on 2022 I saw my journey of coding that started this year only. A person who doesn't know a little bit about coding to a person who eagerly wants to learn to code. This is only started we have to go beyond with it in the coming years. The learning from this blog is that you have to take the first step only. The first step is the most difficult but also the most important. At last, I wish you all a very happy year ahead and hope you will always take the first step in your life without hesitation.